Not your perfect little girl

I’m not even sure how to start this post. A large part of me feels that it’s unnecessary to publicise this information about myself. However, in the ever growing discussion of the LGBTQ+ community, I want my voice heard as much as the next person.

I’m publicising this information because I shouldn’t have to – my identity is my own, regardless of what Joe Bloggs down the street decides is “correct” (you’re wrong, Mr Joe Bloggs), and because no matter what I divulge here, nothing anyone says or believes is going to change who I am. So I’m publicising it, because it’s mine and I wish to proudly state who I am.

I identify as gender neutral.

It’s a pretty self explanatory term, coming under the umbrella of transgender identities – ooh look, there’s a big scary word! I prefer the pronoun “they”. Sometimes I wear men’s clothes, sometimes I don’t. Some of my friends and I have coined the term “jellyfish” – I’m floating around, doing me, neither aiming to be particularly masculine or feminine. My sex and my gender identity are not the same. I don’t consider either to be a large or important part of my identity – and neither should you!

That’s the reason I write this piece. Whatever your preconceived notions of my identity are, they are just that – yours – and you’re entitled to that. You can view me however you want to view me, it has no impact on how I see myself. You can say that you don’t “believe” in gender neutral, non binary, fluid identities, that I’m “confused” or you “just don’t understand”. But that doesn’t change my identity, and such comments will only lead to me showing you where you can shove your bigoted opinion. Or, as I’d like to hope, you’re all super accepting people and just… don’t really care.

“Coming out” with this identity doesn’t change who I am. You all (probably) know me, and this new information is really rather pointless unless you’re particularly interested in my genitals. Pervs. (Just kidding).

But that’s about it really, kids. The real point I’m making here is that my identity is really none of your business, and this utterly pointless blog post shows how ridiculous it is that any members of the LGBTQ+ community have to “come out” to cis straight people. Because beyond getting people’s pronouns right, and not constantly reminding people of their biological sex (please. please. please don’t do this????), if you’re not going to sleep with me, you don’t need to concern yourself with what’s in my pants. It’s really rather irrelevant.

P.S. my chickadees, please remember that I speak only for myself and not for anyone else and they may hold different opinions so please also take their opinions etc into account too and be lovely to everyone!

P.P.S. I’ve probably missed a ton of stuff here, but I’ve said what I can so just roll with it okay? This is a tricky thing to talk about so just don’t be too harsh. Thank y’all!

xoxo Merry

Leave a Reply

