Shaving my head

Cystic Fibrosis is a genetic disease that affects the respiratory and digestive systems. It is most common, probably, for affecting the lungs and impairing ability to breathe. There is currently no cure, and it affects approximately 1 in 25 people in the UK, making it the most common inherited disease in the UK. My ultimate goal is to try and make more people aware of this disease, as it affects so many and is so isolating, yet too many people are oblivious to how truly devastating the effects can be on so many families.

This is not a post about beauty, fashion, or makeup. This is a post about something that affects my life, every day. I would like to make it clear though, that I do not have CF, and I do not (very luckily) carry the genetic code for it.

In January 2014, I decided to shave my head in order to raise money for the Cystic Fibrosis Trust in Britain. Within 24 hours of announcing my fundraiser to my friends and family, I had raised over £800. The support I received was absolutely overwhelming and I could not have gone through with the head shave without it. I also received some negative comments, people who thought I couldn’t “pull off” the look, or who “preferred” me with long hair. But I would can never regret what I did, and for those people who didn’t think I should get rid of my hair, well, they’re not the ones who lost all of their hair. Because honestly, I would rather have no hair than be going through the crap I have to put up with every day. And I sacrificed my hair to show that, and it was my decision alone to make.

 

Leave a Reply

